The new GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 cards are at Newegg.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 07:29 Wed, November 30, 2011 - fix me

Our Newegg parser (the thing the puts the price next to card) is not working so I had to craft these links by hand. If you want to help support this site by buying one of these new cards, please use the links below:

EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores Classified $299.99
EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores FTW $289.99
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 WindForce 3 $314.99
MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozr III PE/OC $309.99
Zotac GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 $309.99

UPDATE:
All of a suddend the Newegg parser is working again. I can't wait to figure out what was going on with it.

The Limited Edition 448 core GTX 560 Ti arrives right on cue.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 06:38 Tue, November 29, 2011 - fix me

Remember that news post I made 19 days ago? Well the events described in that post have come to pass! Apparently Nvidia is marketing this card as a limited edition holiday card that you can use to play popular recently released games like The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, Battlefield 3 and Batman: Arkham City.

Nvidia has chosen not to list this new GTX 560 Ti separately from the original on their website. The specifications for both versions are listed together on this page. I will be adding the retail cards (like the Zotac below) to the site later today.

Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448

Article on the history of 3dfx.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 13:47 Thu, November 17, 2011 - fix me

ThinkComputers has a nice three page article on their site all about the history of the once great graphics card company called 3dfx. 3dfx was most known for their Voodoo line of cards, but what I remember most about them was the totally wicked art on the boxes of their products.

BEHOLD!

Voodoo 3 3000
Voodoo 5 5500

A new GTX 560 Ti just in time for Christmas!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 13:33 Thu, November 10, 2011 - fix me

According to some very credible sources, a new GTX 560 Ti will be launched at the end of November. This product will basically be a GTX 570 with 448 CUDA cores instead of 480. This gives the new GTX 560 Ti more bandwidth, FLOPS and pixel fill rate than the current GTX 560 Ti. The new Ti will have a slow texture fill rate than the current Ti due to the fact that it has fewer texture units (just like the GTX 570).

Here's a nifty table from SweClockers for y'all to peruse:

GTX 560 Ti 448 table

Crysis 2's DirectX 11 patch in now available!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 09:35 Mon, June 27, 2011 - fix me

The super futuristic shooting game is now ready to rock the graphics technology of the present! Like many of you, I managed to buy Crysis 2 without realizing that it did not feature DirectX 11 support. I thought it was implied for some reason. When Crysis came out it featured all the latest graphics technology (like DirectX 10) so I was very surprised when Crysis 2 came out with cutting edge DirectX 9c sweetness!

Well now everything is all better because the DirectX 11 patch is ready for download! Which means I will acutally install the game, install the patch and then give it a go.

UPDATE!

The fellas at [H]ard|OCP have managed to install the DirectX 11 and high-res texture patches after 4.5 hours of error messages and failures. They finally came up with a convoluted 10 step procedure that will allow the patches to be installed. Clicky the link for screenshots and the 10 step install procedure.

E3 News that You Can Watch in Glorious 3D!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 14:37 Fri, June 03, 2011 - fix me

Nvidia and GamerLive.TV have touched their magic rings together to form 3D E3 news for those lucky enough to own a 3D Vision kit. I will be at E3 this year (for the first time!) so I'll be able to see the show in 3D during the show and then when I get home I'll be able to see anything I missed in 3D. Pretty sweet huh? Do any of you fine readers have 3D Vision? If you do, let me know in the comments and tell me if it is the active glasses version or the blue and red glasses version.

During the show I will be posting neat videos (and maybe some pics) on my My IGN blog which is right here. If I see any GPU related awesomeness I'll post it here instead.

 

3D in 3D text

The Asus Mars II has made it to this planet.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 10:42 Wed, June 01, 2011 - fix me

Engadget has taken some out-of-this-world pictures of Asus' new Mars II video card. This sequel to the original planetoid is comprised of two GTX 580 cores, basalt, fine iron oxide dust and other trace elements. Only 1,000 Mars IIs will ever be made and the card will suck 600 watts of power, much like a black hole.

Here's a shot of the Mars II's three slots:

Engadget Asus Mars II pic

Asus' Matrix GTX580 Platinum was also in attendance. The Platinum will have a plus and minus buttons that can increase and descrease the GPU voltage and a fan override switch. In case you take things too far you can always press the Safe Mode switch to bring everything back to Earth.

GPUReview's GTX 560 overclocking roundup!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 14:21 Wed, May 18, 2011 - fix me

The GTX 560 was released yesterday which means that now it's time for our patented overclocking roundup! The GTX 560 is able to reach core speeds over 1Ghz if you purchase a card that will allow some voltage tweaking like the MSI or Asus. The average overclock (from the bottom of the chart) is 980/4,572 which is enough for the GTX 560 to pull ahead of the stock GTX 560 Ti in memory bandwidth (146 GB/sec to 128), pixel fill rate (31.36 GPixels/sec to 26.3) and texture fill rate (54.88 GTexels to 52.6). Therefore I think it is safe to assume that an overclocked GTX 560 should outperform a stock clocked GTX 560 Ti and it will cost you $30 less!

 

GPUReview's GTX 560 overclocking roundup

Spy pic of PowerColor's dual-Barts Radeon.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 08:12 Tue, May 10, 2011 - fix me

A site by the dubious name of SemiAccurate has posted a picture of a new dual-Barts graphics card from PowerColor. The Barts GPU is used on the HD 6850 and HD 6870 so people are speculating that this card will be a dual GPU HD 6870 that might be named the HD 6890. If this card is PowerColor only product, they could follow in Asus' footsteps and give the card its own special name. If each Barts GPU has the full complement of stream processors and memory, then this card will have 2,240 stream procs and 2GB of GDDR5.

 

PowerColor Spy Pic from Engadget.com

More information about this product should be announced during Computex in June.

AMD's upcoming motherboards will feature SLI.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 16:24 Thu, April 28, 2011 - fix me

Nvidia is very excited about this news, AMD...not so much. I checked AMD's news page and they haven't even mentioned it yet. Nvidia says they are doing it because their customers have asking for it but I am not sure that is 100% true. Nvidia cares about what makes them money and about preventing bad press.

I think Nvidia is doing this because they are facing more competition from Intel on the integrated graphics processor (IGP) front and they believe that AMD's new Bulldozer processor line will be an attractive option to PC gamers. I want to know how AMD feels about this. Do they have any say about the features that MSI, or Gigabyte can include on their AMD based motherboards? I think they have at least a little influence don't you? One things for sure though. This is a good deal in the eyes of PC gamers everywhere.

This a picture of Asus' Crosshair V Forumla motherboard from their Repuplic of Gamers line. The picture is not huge, but the SLI logo is there on the bottom.

 

Asus' Motherboard

Here are some links to what other hardware sites are saying about this news:

ars technia
PC Perspective
Legit Reviews

GPUReview's HD 6790 overclocking roundup!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 10:45 Tue, April 05, 2011 - fix me

Prepare for my Ultimate Attack! Oooovvvveeerrrrrrr clockinnnnnngggggg rooooouuuunnnnddddup!!

Both the clock and memory speeds can be increased by over 13% on average. That's not too shabby.

 

GPUReview's HD 6790 Overclocking Roundup.

The HD 6790 enters the $150 fray.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 08:40 Tue, April 05, 2011 - fix me

AMD is launching a new $150 mid-range card today called the HD 6790. It performs better than Nvidia's GTX 550 Ti but it ends up trading blows with Nvidia's two GTX 460 models. You are more likely to find the 768MB GTX 460 for around $150, but there are a few open box 1GB GTX 460s at Newegg right now. If you're an AMD purist however, the HD 6790 is what you need to get at this price range.

Here are the XFX and HIS models for your eye holes:

XFX and HIS HD 6790s

GPUReview's GTX 590 overclocking roundup!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 10:08 Fri, March 25, 2011 - fix me

Once again it is time for our patented overclocking roundup! The GTX 590 has improved OverCurrent Protection (OCP) but if you raise the voltage too high some really bad things could happen. If you are planning on increasing the voltage on your GTX 590 make sure to take very small baby steps.

TechPowerUp was the only outlet that managed to get the GTX 590 to GTX 580 speeds and from what I read, they were able to do so without increasing the voltage. Unfortunatley, the average overclock speed came in below GTX 570 levels (732/3,800).

 

GPUReview's GTX 590 Overclocking Roundup!

Nvidia launches their stealthy dual GPU beast.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 14:56 Thu, March 24, 2011 - fix me

Today Nvidia has shot put their GTX 590 into the market, and much like a shot put, it has landed with a thud, but within a few inches of the competition. The HD 6990 at stock speeds uses less power, is a little bit faster (in most games) but the GTX 590 is cooler, quieter, it's more overclockerable and it has a neat light up GeForce logo on its side.

All the cards are being made by Nvidia so the best looking launch card contest will be decided by which company has the nicest sticker. For the guys we've got the GoldenEyesque Palit and for the Christian ladies we have a male angel with rock hard abs from Gainward.

Palit and Gainward GTX 590s

GPUReview's GTX 550 Ti overclocking roundup!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 16:01 Tue, March 15, 2011 - fix me

A few of these outlets put up several reviews so now long chart is llllooonnnggggeeerrrr. Some outlets increased the voltage so I added a column for it.

 

GPUReview's GTX 550 Ti Overclocking Roundup

GeForce GTX 550 Ti launch day!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 12:35 Tue, March 15, 2011 - fix me

I'm back from PAX East and do you know what I noticed? I noticed that the GTX 590 was not launched or even mentioned. I did hear about the GTX 550 Ti from one of Nvidia's partners and now that Tuesday is upon us, so is the 550 Ti.

What we have here is a $150 dollar card that is not as fast the GTX 460 (which can be had for as low as $155) but faster than the HD 5770 (from $120 to $150). The neat thing about the GTX 550 Ti is all the overclocked offerings from the various manufacturers. Zotax, Galaxy and Gainward all pushed the core clock up to the 1Ghz mark and Galaxy's White Edition is the big kahuna with the highest memory clock of 4,600Mhz.

 

Galaxy and Zotac GTX 550 Ti

GPUReview's HD 6990 overclocking roundup!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 09:52 Tue, March 08, 2011 - fix me

It is important to note that all HD 6990s come with two BIOS settings that the user can switch between using a switch located near the CrossFire connector. Here's a picture from TechPowerUp that shows what the switch looks like:

TechPowerUp's switch pic.

All the sites listed in the chart below (except for TechPowerUp) overclocked their cards with the BIOS switch at position 1 which gives the card a clock speed of 880 at 1.175 volts instead of 830 at 1.12 volts. This is probably why TechPowerUp got a lousy core speed even though they managed to get the highest memory overclock. Major props to HardwareHeaven and Neoseeker for reaching the coveted 1Ghz mark!

 

HD 6990 Overclocking Roundup

The HD 6990's launch day is here!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 07:07 Tue, March 08, 2011 - fix me

The reviews are out and the word on the street is that AMD's HD 6990 is indeed the fastest single card available right now, however it does cost $700. I recommend reading the last page of [H]ard|OCP's review because they have described the performance and the value of the HD 6990 when it is compared to a GTX 580 SLI, GTX 570 SLI and HD 6970 CrossFireX setup.

I'll be spending the rest of the day adding cards and reviews to the site. If enough reviews contain overclocking data, I will try to post an overclocking roundup for y'all.

I have a hunch that this week is going to be very exciting for graphics card enthusiasts. I am pretty confident that Nvidia will be using PAX East to celebrate the arrival of their GTX 590. One thing is for sure, I will be there, and I will do my best to make you all feel like you are there as well.

For now all the HD 6990s look the same except for the sticker that the manufacturer has slapped onto the card. I haven't seen Gigabyte or Asus' card yet, so right now PowerColor has the prettiest sticker and Diamond has the most boring sticker.

PowerColor and Diamond's HD 6990

The HD 6990 slides have been leaked!

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 09:33 Wed, March 02, 2011 - fix me

A Turkish website posted AMD's HD 6990 slides and [H]ard|OCP has posted the cream of the crop for us. Using the slides I was able to add the HD 6990 to our database so you guys can begin your GTX 580 vs HD 6990 comparisons 6 days early!

 

HD 6990 Slide from Donanimhaber.com

Radeon HD 6990 pictures and a GTX 590 PAX East rumor.

Posted By: Steve McBarnes - 10:18 Mon, February 28, 2011 - fix me

First the new news. Hexus has provided the digital universe with pictures of the yet to be launched dual GPU HD 6990. Word is that this beast will have more than 3,000 shaders, 4GB of GDDR5 and around 300GB/s of memory bandwidth.

UPDATE!
I just noticed this HD 6990 sneek peek over at [H]ard|OCP. No performance numbers are given, but they were allowed to talk about the gameplay experience that the HD 6990 gave them in Dragon Age II.

Hexus' HD 6990 pictures.

The next news that is not as new as the previous news is that Nvidia may choose to debut the GTX 590 (Ti?) at PAX East. They did it with the GTX 480 last year and I think it is very possible that it could happen again. When this year's Expo Hall map was first released Nvidia's booth was red and so were several of the hardware booths that just happen to be right next to Nvidia's booth. When someone in the PAX forums comented on how those booths are computer hardware companies, Penny Arcade employee David Koffman said "lillb pretty much has it, although why it's colored differently will make more sense once you see it in person." In the updated map those booths are no longer red. Me thinks something interesting will be going on at PAX East in that sector of the map...

PAX East